Someone has to lose

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This supporter of Germany was certainly in the minority in Lille.

The staff of the little restaurant where my friends and I ate the night of the World Cup semifinal had hooked up a small television so that they could catch glimpses as they worked. Our waiter kept apologizing for forgetting things, explaining that he was distracted. We certainly didn’t care; we were on holiday and had all the time in the world. Besides, even though none of the three of us cares a bit about soccer, we were caught up in the moment and were rooting for Les Bleus right along with him. When France won, Lille erupted. Until well after 2 PM, people drove round honking horns and yelling.

The German flag continued to flutter from the window for a couple of days after the match—sadly but defiantly, I thought, as I watched it from my hotel room. I’m not good at competitive stuff. I’d like it best if everyone could win.

3 Responses to Someone has to lose

  1. Marie McC says:

    Cute shot. You have no idea how glad I am that the World Cup is over and done with.

  2. Thibault says:

    It seems that this is a Belgian (not German) flag, which is not a surprise in Lille !
    … and Belgium was not in the World Cup !!

  3. Passante says:

    Oh my goodness so it is! The German flag is the same colors but in a different order and the stripes are horizontal. Thanks for pointing that out, Thibault.

