The eternal mystery of the banana

Yes! we have no bananas!
We have no bananas today!!
(Frank Silver and Irving Cohn, 1923)

Why do people bypass a bunch of four perfect, pristine, prize-winning bananas on the supermarket display, pick up a hand of five, and break off four? What makes those bananas more desirable than the four that were ready to go?

And what about the resulting heap of orphans, those pariahs of the banana world? Does anyone else but me ever take pity and choose from that pile?

3 Responses to The eternal mystery of the banana

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I adore bananas – they are my favorite fruit. My favorite ice cream – and I am not even much of a sweet tooth – is Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey.

  2. midnitebara says:

    my mom cannot eat her meal if their is no banana on her plate.

  3. jenni says:

    I love it!
    we are a banana family here… and I admit I like to pick the perfect great big bunch… although, fear not for the lone bananas, we often look for three perfect singletons to take and eat on the way out of the store!

